Reviews



Heaven on earth - Rating 5/5

This is a place that exceeded all expectations.Everything was provided for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The breakfast was incomparable. And so beautifully presented.And the gardens completed the tranquillity. Thank you for the perfect base to enjoy this wonderful corner of England.

Reviewer:Terry and Barbara D | Fri 13th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.Hospitality second to none.

Reviewer:Carleen W | Wed 11th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Weekend break- Rating 4/5

Cleavers Lyng was a very nice place to visit and stay over. Room was nice a host we’re hospitable.

Reviewer:Yildiray O | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house in a lovely location with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The owner was very welcoming and happy to advise on local areas of interest including pubs/restaurants. Our room is was lovely and had everything we needed. Would recommend the amazing breakfast. Any enjoyable stay - would certainly return.

Reviewer:Marian C | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


July 2019 Stay - Rating 4/5

Fantastic old style building but modern facilities within. Super breakfast too. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Richard J | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B with lots of charm and character. Bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was first class

Reviewer:Susan D | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely garden and views - Rating 5/5

Lovely location, garden and views.Immaculate rooms, some have lovely views. Very good breakfast

Reviewer:Karen C | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

very nice room perfect breakfast and a lovely hostess.nice surroundings!

Reviewer:A | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 5 months ago


Peace and quiet - Rating 5/5

A comfortable room;a great breakfast with an interesting menu;a characterful property;a helpful host and peace and quiet!

Reviewer:Christopher B | Sat 18th May 2019 | 6 months ago


A lovely few days inn Sussex - Rating 5/5

Pat paid the bill as we were her guests, but our names are Brian and Denise Gale of Whittlebury in Northamptonshire. Our grateful compliments are in your visitors book.We are hoping to visit you again in 2019. Our email address is gale8xh@btinterent.com

Reviewer:Patricia N | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Country retreat - Rating 5/5

We would certainly recommend Cleavers Lyng to anyone visiting the area looking for a peaceful, beautiful, comfortable and welcoming place to stay.We hope to return ourselves.

Reviewer:Anne & Ian C | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


We have felt like a Prince, Princess and royal dog - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is very beautiful in a great surrounding. We have heard the happy birds, even saw a fox when we enjoyed our delicious breakfast and the (summer)room was comfortable. We couldn't hear other guests and our dog was also welcome. Thank you for the pleasant 2-day stay!!!

Reviewer:Steven S | Sat 26th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Spring- Rating 5/5

Lovely place clean, attractive and well run

Reviewer:Dr Michael W | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


A beautiful place in beautiful country - Rating 5/5

We would recommend Cleavers Lyng for anyone who wants a top-class B &B for a country break. No suppers, naturally, but local restaurants (for example the Lamb at Wartling, and the Eastern Promise Indian restaurant in Herstmonceux) are of a high standard, and there is much to see nearby:Bexhill and the Art Deco de la Warr Pavilion (needs a lick of paint, but still worth the ride, and there's a very good and friendly Italian fish restaurant a short walk away), the decidedly strange Herstmonceux Castle with its splendid grounds, Bateman's (Kipling's House), and the lovingly restored and maintained Michelham Priory near Hailsham. Calm and beautiful countryside on all sides, well-appointed rooms, and absolutely superb breakfasts. You can also be sure of a welcome from a delightful trio of Yorkshire Terriers, including the charming and intrepid Pookie!

Reviewer:Rob W | Fri 25th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Best place we have stayed at and best breakfast too. Thank you so much!

Reviewer:| Tue 11th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A corner of heaven - Rating 5/5

Snuggled into a quiet corner of Sussex this wonderful house has a lovely and so kind owner who not only made us feel so welcome (including our dogs) but also fed us such great breakfasts that we will definitely be coming back again and wished we didn't have to leave.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary B | Tue 23rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Quality and value - Rating 5/5

My partner and myself wanted a change from watching the heroic efforts of the London Marathon runners so booked a night at Cleavers Lyng. We couldn't have made a better choice. The setting of the house is idyllic and our room was beautifully furnished, but it was the warmth and hospitality of Sally and Douglas that really made the stay memorable for all the right reasons.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark E | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Quality and value - Rating 5/5

My partner and myself wanted a change from watching the heroic efforts of the London Marathon runners so booked a night at Cleavers Lyng. We couldn't have made a better choice. The setting of the house is idyllic and our room was beautifully furnished, but it was the warmth and hospitality of Sally and Douglas that really made the stay memorable for all the right reasons.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark E | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


2 adults and a dog - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is a wonderful tranquil country house with lost of character but well-equipped for modern living and with lovely walks on the doorstep. Sally was very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was cooked to perfection.I would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard T | Wed 19th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


2 adults and a dog - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is a wonderful tranquil country house with lost of character but well-equipped for modern living and with lovely walks on the doorstep. Sally was very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was cooked to perfection.I would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard T | Wed 19th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


The best B&B around - Rating 5/5

Thr room, the surrounding area and the breakfast is excellent!

Reviewer:Mr. Scott H | Fri 14th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

Unfortunately having arrived on Saturday late afternoon it was a very quick turnaround as we had to leave early on the Sunday. We were worry to have to leave and miss breakfast, very warm welcome, lovely room and idyllic setting. We will be back when we have more time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara McHugh de C | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay over.It was lovely and peaceful and the countryside was perfect for walking the dogs

Reviewer:Mrs. kim s | Sat 29th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely location and hostess. A very good choice of breakfast that was well cooked.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert B | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


A beautiful country retreat - Rating 5/5

We so enjoyed our stay at Cleavers Lyng. Combining a beautiful and charming location with a comfortable room and top class breakfast, our three nights stay was perfect. Sally was an excellent host, providing lots of little extras that made our stay feel very special and luxurious. We would definitely return if we were wanting to stay in the area again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne H | Sat 23rd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - I recommend it - Rating 5/5

5 Star - all of it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola K | Wed 29th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


June 2016 2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our too short a break

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie Widdicombe| Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 4/5

Peaceful and comfortable, friendly welcome - super breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael A | Wed 11th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in May 2016 but wish it could have been more. Will definitely be going back.Set in a beautiful location with great views and plenty of country walks but also only a short drive to the coast.Welcome was genuinely warm and welcoming. Room was very clean and tidy and the breakfast marvellous. One of the best B&B experiences we have ever had and so intend to return and stay longer.

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


visit 6/8-04-2106 - Rating 5/5

Have stayed here twice before and cannot fault the accommodation and the breakfasts were great and sufficient to see us through until dinner time. Thank you for your hospitality.Regards Len&Marion.

Reviewer:Mr. leonard p | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful long weekend staying at Clevers Lyng with our dog. Lovely house and gardens surrounded by fantastic views and walks. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast delicious. We stayed in the French room which was clean and very comfortable. Highly recommended. We intend to book another stay here later in the year.

Reviewer:Mr. Nathan S | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Second time at this hotel with our beagle bellaExcellent as before good room great breakfast lovely location. Would highly recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Ian W | Wed 11th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


A wonderful location - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome from Sally set the tone for our stay. We were shown to our room, The Sunny Room, which proved to be just that at least on the couple of sunny days that we had. The shower was a wee bit small and the pressure could have been better, but not a problem. Breakfasts were excellent and very well presented. Look forward to a return visit to see the the garden in its glory.Many thanks Sally and Douglas

Reviewer:Mr. Ian R | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


First rate accommodation in Sussex - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights - and wish we could have spent more time here.Superb location, quiet and very relaxing, with lovely walk to the castle and Greenwich Observatory location.Delightful, comfortable rooms throughout. Excellent hosts, so very helpful. We want to go back!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Suzanne W | Wed 9th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

My wife and i took our dog bella to srsy hrre for the first tineTrip was faultless from beginning to endSpotlessly clean throughout wonderfu room great breakfast and in a divine locationWill return in the future first class

Reviewer:Mr. Ian W | Sat 22nd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


lovely stay. - Rating 5/5

We recently had a wedding to attend in herstmonceux castle and choose to stay in cleavers ings as it was just down the road.we had a lovely night and slept well. The rooms were nice and comfortable and the breaskfast the following morning was great and well received. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert L | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Weekend break at Cleavers Lyng Guest House - Rating 5/5

Most enjoyable stay at Cleavers Lyng;very welcoming;well appointed comfortable bedroom with balcony overlooking beautiful garden and Sussex countryside.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard G | Tue 7th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed four nights and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is so lovely and the welcome was most friendly. Thank you for looking after us so well.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike G | Sat 13th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


two night stay - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is a comfortable b&b tucked away in a quite location. You are made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the Sunny room which is on the top floor and very spacious, tall people may find the doorways challenging up there which is to be expected really in an older character house. Breakfast is lovely cooked to perfection.It is an ideal place to stay for a holiday or mini break.

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda J | Wed 3rd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Bank Holiday Weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely room. Great location. Fabulous breakfasts!

Reviewer:Mr. Glyn J | Tue 26th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Happy Days - Rating 5/5

Great house andgreat hosts who also serve superb breakfasts.The house is along a country lane yet it is in a convenient location for touring the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian b | Sat 16th May 2015 | 4 years ago


A perfect peaceful getaway - Rating 5/5

A beautiful B&B tucked away down a country lane, with fabulous views &the best breakfasts! You will leave relaxed &happy ! Just lovely, will be back

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracey S | Wed 25th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Married, mature couple - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable room (Balcony) with room to allow us keep our dog with us. Excellent breakfast with more choices than most other B&b's and great to have fresh fruit salad.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lyn H | Sat 11th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


weekend away - Rating 5/5

Delightful B&B Historic old beamed property, but with modern facilities and superb views. Breakfast food well presented and in right quantity. Owner/manager Sally very friendly and pleasant quick to assist with queries and serving breakfast. Warm and friendly place to stay with superb views and in quiet peaceful location

Reviewer:Mrs. Marcie B | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


A perfect weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a great time with good service, location and value for money! We look forward to returning soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth B | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


A perfect weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a great time with good service, location and value for money! We look forward to returning soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth B | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


A perfect weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a great time with good service, location and value for money! We look forward to returning soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth B | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay for one night and a perfect breakfast! Beautiful room, nice house and garden, quiet, perfect service and breakfast, dogfriendly.Thank You

Reviewer:Mr. Martin R | Sun 13th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


A place of tranquility - Rating 5/5

Excellent BnB off quiet country lane. Special view from Balcony Room in comfortable home, hosted by considerate owners.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian T | Thu 19th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Cleavers Lyng for 3 nights - lovely house and gardens in peaceful surroundings. Excellent hosts, fantastic breakfasts, lots of attention to detail - would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth F | Sun 27th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful break - Rating 5/5

We spent four enjoyable nights in Sussex and the experience was enhanced by the fantastic time at Cleavers Lyng.The welcome was great and the breakfasts were super - such a wide choice and superb cooking.We would highly recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Mr. John R | Sun 27th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Amazing place to stay - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for something very special you have to stay there. B&B at its best. First it seemed a little bit out of the way but everything you need is within reach. The whole place is lovely down to the smallest details.

Reviewer:Mrs. Heike T | Wed 23rd Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Beautiful English countryside - Rating 4/5

This is a lovely B &B in a beautiful countryside location. The accommodations were extremely comfortable and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was top notch. This was the first night of our 2 week holiday in the UK and we wished we were staying there for the entire stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Arend N | Sun 20th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

I booked a 2 night stay at 'Cleavers Lyng' as a 65th birthday present for my husband. We loved every minute we were there. The Four Poster bedroom was very comfortable. The breakfast superb. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan P | Thu 27th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - well worth a visit!! - Rating 4/5

Fantastic location, beautiful house and gardens, warm welcome, helpful guidance for eating out, comfortable bed and great breakfasts to set you up for the day ahead!!

Reviewer:Mr. Douglas M | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Visit - Rating 5/5

Another very pleasant and relaxing stay at Cleavers Lyng.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim B | Sun 20th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay;pleasant surroundings, comfortable room, nice breakfast - recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth Brecher V | Fri 11th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


Mr Mutt Can't Wait To Come Back - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is the most wonderful place for a relaxing break.They do everything possible to make your stay perfect.My partner and I loved it.So did Mr Mutt, aka our little dog.We'd booked to go to Glyndebourne.Sally, our lovely hostess, volunteered to have our dog for the evening. His evening - from his point of view - was at least as special as ours.We could hardly tear him away.It doesn't get any better than that:-)

Reviewer:Dr. Annie K | Fri 16th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

The best bacon and sausage my husband has had in years!! Lovely room and a wonderful old building. Nice quiet location within easy walking distance of some good pubs and restaurants.

Reviewer:Mrs. Suzette S | Tue 13th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


5 stars - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with our stay here. Slightly off the beaten track. Nevertheless, highly recommendable. Great hosts with an eye for detail, lovely house inmagnificent surroundings. Very good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard S | Wed 7th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


A brilliant find! - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two nights at Cleavers Lynf. The accomodation in the top suite was perfect for our family- we were all able to have our own space and get together in front of the TV in the lounge area. Breakfasts were supberb!!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth L | Mon 29th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Les & Jean - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night in the Sunny Room, it is more compact than some of the other rooms but nicely furnished and the view through the window as you sit in bed is lovely. The house is beautiful and everything was perfect including the breakfast. We would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Les S | Sun 28th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


An idyllic place with great qualities - Rating 5/5

We had a 9 day stay at Cleavers Lyng with our little son. The room was all we could hope for;big, clean and beautifully kept. The breakfast is of high quality. The service in general was more than expected. The owners are very helpful in every way possible. Cleavers Lyng is very idyllic placed in a quite part of the East Sussex country side, however it is not remote or disconnected from the rest of Sussex, which makes it a great place to stay and drive to what you may wish to see in Sussex. We would very much like to have another stay at Cleavers Lyng. Maybe next time it may just be mom and dad.

Reviewer:Mr. Soren H | Sat 20th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Very nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay in the Top Suite with our daughter and our Golden Retreiver dog.This place makes you fell at home.The breakfast is fantastic.We loved it!

Reviewer:Mr. ChristophP | Wed 17th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

This was our fourth stay at Cleavers Lyng with our dog whilst visiting family in Eastbourne and, as on the previous occasions, we received a warm welcome and enjoyed the comfortable room, superb breakfasts and excellent dog walks from the doorstep. We will definitely be back. Thank you Sally and Douglas.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynette H | Tue 9th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We chose Cleavers Lyng for practical reasons (near to our family in Sussex) but will definitely stay again to enjoy the beautiful surroundings, delicious breakfasts and very comfortable room.Sally and Douglas were perfect hosts, thank you!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra S | Thu 27th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

from the moment we arrived to the moment we left all was perfect. 1st class room,1st class welcome, 1st class food,lovely house,lovely setting,would recomend to anyone

Response

JoyceThank you so much for such a great review, more like this one please !So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.I do hope that I will get to meet you again one of these days.Sally

Reviewer:Mrs. Joyce W | Sun 23rd Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay and view - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Cleavers Lying and the easy access to Herstmonceux Castle and the Observatory. Our room had a beautiful view of the fields and gardens in the back of the inn. The room was light, spacious, and nicely appointed. And the English breakfasts were wonderful. Thank you. J &J Wolf

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffrey W | Wed 5th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Overnight stay in a very nice place! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night, and took up the whole of the top floor here (called the Top room).Very well looked after, homely feeling.The kids had their own beds (an extra double and a single), and their own TV!The Top room has a living space, which we didn't use, but would be handy for longer stays.Breakfast was really good, and they accommodated by wheat intolerance, by providing gluten free bread, and a fab gluten free banana cake!)

Reviewer:Mr. Dom L | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Relaxing weekend away - Rating 5/5

We just got back from a great weekend away. Our first trip with our 10 week old son and our dog.Sally was very welcolming and helpful.The room was very nice, clean and had everything we needed.Breakfast offered lots of variety and was again very good.Can't wait to visit again.Thanks for a great weekend.

Reviewer:Mr. Danny Ho Mon W | Mon 11th Feb 2013 | 6 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

Cosy house within a beautiful setting

Response

Thank you for your great review.I hope to see you again one of these days.Sally

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane D | Thu 29th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely country hotel - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is a beautiful house in a picturesque setting. We stayed in the Balcony room and the view was wonderful.We were attracted to the hotel because of it's dog friendly policy. The surrounding countryside is ideal for dog walking and the hotel itself is very accommodating although we were a little worried about the cream carpet in our room!All in all a lovely hotel that we'd definitely return to.

Response

David & AnneThank you for taking the time to review Cleavers Lyng.Glad to hear you will return.Sally

Reviewer:Mr. David & Anne C | Mon 19th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

The house is very nice, our room was really confortable.Thank you for all!

Response

REginaThank you very much for taking the time to review Cleavers Lyng.Sally

Reviewer:Mrs. Regina B | Tue 6th Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


Great Break - Rating 5/5

Accommodation (King suite) excellent as was breakfast. Lots of little extras. Highly recommended for a great get away. Black Duck restaurant &local Indian well worth a visit.All in all a really good experience.Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin G | Fri 2nd Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

Superb, comfortable accommodation in an idyllic setting with wonderful rural views. Excellent hospitality and an unexpectedly large selection of tasty choices for breakfast. Looking forward to our next visit!

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda H | Wed 31st Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


Yet another success - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation in this 'olde worlde' house set in beautiful grounds and surrounding countryside, with easy access to many heritage houses and gardens, plus the coast and walks suited to all abilities. This has been our fourth stay with the delightful owners.

Reviewer:Mrs. Polly & Duncan H | Tue 18th Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Mini break at dog friendly guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Researched this Guest house specifically as we wanted to take our Border collie away with us. We were not disappointed. Ticked all the boxes for all of us. Beautiful building with history, great ambiance, clean, welcoming and relaxing. Despite the bath being on the small side in the French Room, the lovely smellies made for a relaxing time after a day of sight seeing. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, milk, coffee cream, sweets and bottled water replenished daily and towels changed every 2 days.There were areas of garden which our dog was positively invited to use whatever time of day/night. We had a front door key so no awkward seeking out owners to let us in and out.There is woods opposite the house (surrounding Herstmonceaux Castle) so we were able to start and finish our day with walking the dog without getting into the car.The breakfast was a truly relaxing and enjoyable event. Freshly cooked food from a good choice of menu.Sally was a perfect host, polite, friendly, competent, no intrusion and quick to tend to us.Another plus with Cleavers Lyng was allowing our dog to come to breakfast with us.Yes you need a car to get around to see the sights...Eastbourne, Lewes, Hastings, Battle, Beachy Head (all the places we visited) but returning to Cleavers Lyng in the evenings was something to look forward to.We had the French room which was wonderfully furnished in keeping with the period. (&allowed dogs in!)There is a choice of rooms and if ever we come back to these parts, we will certainly try all of them out.

Reviewer:Cathy H | Thu 6th Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Lovely and Welcoming - Rating 5/5

A beautiful property, lovely room and gorgeous gardens. Very pleasant stay, thank you for everything - highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Trisha F | Sat 25th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


marvellous - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderfull time at Cleavers Lyng. The welcome was very warm and the room was super. It was a pity that we only stayed 2 nights and it was our first B&B this holiday. You set a high standard. When we are in the same surroundings another holiday, we will stay at your place again.Thanks for a wonderfull stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Inge C | Mon 13th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


What a retreat! - Rating 5/5

Great views, great surroundings,great B&B, great start of our holidys in Cornwall and Ireland. What a beautiful garden.

Reviewer:Mr. Holger W | Sun 29th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Fantastic Place to stay - Rating 5/5

We found the rooms very comfortable and the breakfast to be five star.Sally was very accommodating with our requests and welcomed our little dog Frasier as if he were her own.

Reviewer:D | Wed 18th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


'Cleavers Lyng- Rating 5/5

Perfect dog friendly bed &breakfast.Beautiful location, lovely comfortable room, wonderful varied breakfast selection. Can't wait to return.

Reviewer:Karen & Tim C | Tue 17th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


B&B Sussex - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely weekend at Cleavers Lyng. The hosts were welcoming, good breakfast, spacious, clean family rooms and gardens were lovely!A few cobwebs could be swept up but otherwise a great house. Our dog was also made very welcome.

Reviewer:Mary & David V | Tue 17th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


July 2012 - Rating 4/5

Nice location. Our room was on the top floor. Nice size with great views. Breakfast very good. Sally very friendly and helpful. Very dog friendly. Would use Cleavers Lyng again.

Reviewer:Martin, Sharon, F | Sun 8th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Great guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Fantastic short break . Lovely room . Delicious breakfast .

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine H | Tue 26th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Tranquil country house - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at Cleavers Lyng which has a lovely location. Sally was very helpful with local information re restaurants/taxi etc &we particularly enjoyed the hearty breakfasts. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandy M | Tue 19th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


A perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We had a most relaxing and comfortable stay. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished, the breakfast delicious and surrounding countryside unspoilt and picturesque.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter J | Sun 17th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 4/5

Fantastic house and grounds, rooms clean, very nice and full of amenities and the best full english breakfast around!

Reviewer:Mr. Scott H | Sat 9th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


11/10 - Rating 5/5

Everything was wonderful. The smallest details like Bubble bath, fruit bowl,cork screw and wine glasses helped to make it our best yet in B and B land. The breakfasts were sumptuous, the choices huge. The house, furnishings and gardens are beautiful. A great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Jenifer & Stephen T | Sun 13th May 2012 | 7 years ago


MOST ENJOYABLE STAY - Rating 5/5

We would certainly recommend Cleavers Lyng - lovely house in perfect settings - room was completed to a high quality standard with attention to detail and thoughtfull extras provided - breakfast was `spot on' - we were made to feel comfortable and welcome by host Sally - would love to return if in area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean W | Wed 25th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 2 nights at this lovely guesthouse. Our host welcomed us at the door and made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were a delight with even the little touches thought about and provided. I would recommend this to everyone. Breakfast wasalso brilliant.

Reviewer:Mr. Laurie S | Mon 23rd Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


CLeavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every way. Peaceful location, surrounded by pretty and historic countryside and not far from the sea. Owner helpful yet unobtrusive. Location map and sign outside could be improved as we missed it first time.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew R | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


We will be back..... - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for our fantastic stay, we had the balcony bedroom which had the best views I have seen. We even left the curtains open, so that we had the view to wake up to. The breakfast was amazing and kept us going all day. We had a wonderful time and we come back again. Our dog Lilly loved it and didn’t want to go home!

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Miller & Tina Savelle S | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Perfect in every way - Rating 5/5

Our recent third visit to Cleavers Lyng was just as good as the first two. We and our dog were made to feel very welcome, the rooms are luxurious and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts superb. The added bonus is the choice of excellent dog walks from the doorstep.A wonderful stay in a beautiful house with very welcoming owners.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynette H | Fri 13th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Sunny Room - Rating 4/5

Beautiful house set in lovely countryside. Friendly and helpful owners and fabulous breakfast. Very comfortable room but slightly smaller than appeared in pictures. However, we'd love to come back.

Reviewer:Mr. Mathew I | Sun 1st Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


My Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Where to begin! Very warm welcome. Perfect location. Beautiful interior &exterior. The most comfortable bed and an amazing breakfast! Looking forward to my next stay

Reviewer:Mr. Pete B | Sat 31st Mar 2012 | 7 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A warm and helpful welcome and following a peacful nights sleep an excellent breakfast using quality food products.My only regret is that I arrived late in the evening and had to be away by 08.30 the next morning so didn't have the time to enjoy sitting on my bedroom balcony and making full use of this comfortable building and its grounds.Would I stay again? Without hesitation.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter W | Mon 21st Nov 2011 | 7 years ago


weekend escape - Rating 5/5

Perfect location.Warm welcome.Brilliant breakfasts. Loved the real fire.Low water pressure for bath/shower but otherwise ideal.

Reviewer:Harriot&andrew O | Mon 31st Oct 2011 | 8 years ago


Great Find - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel very welcome. Room was pleasant and warm. Owners helpful in where to go and what to do during the day.Breakfast was extremely well received, plentiful and great choice.So nice that they make dogs welcome too.We will be back.Jackie and Simon

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie M | Wed 19th Oct 2011 | 8 years ago


One night wasn't enough! - Rating 5/5

Sally greeted us and our dog, Bella, at the door, where she welcomed us and showed us to our room. The house was wonderful, bedroom extremely clean and comfortable with en-suite and small sofa. The hospitality tray was stocked to the brim! When we returned from our meal in the village we sat on a sofa by an open log fire with a bottle of wine and a book. A complete chill out. Breakfast was very good. We both had a superb full english breakfast but choices ranged from cereals, fresh fruit salad, homemade cakes and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! Also unlimited coffee which pleased us. Bella, sat with us at breakfast and Sally gave her a treat while we were eating! There were numerous walks from the front gate and one led to Herstmonceux Castle. Beautifully kept house and gardens with excellent hosts.

Reviewer:Karen & Richard R | Sun 16th Oct 2011 | 8 years ago


3 Day Break - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a 3 day break at Cleavers Lyng and had a lovely stay. Beautiful setting, very quiet and relaxing. Sally (owner) and her team were very attentive and looked after us very well, breakfast was also good and meant we often didn't require lunch!Would reccommend and return 10/10

Reviewer:Mr. Giles D | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 8 years ago


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is a beautiful building surounded by lovely countryside. The reception was friendly and very helpful with recommendations for nearby evening meal. The room was attractive, comfortable and contained everything we needed. The icing on the cake was an absolutely fantastic breakfast in the morning.

Reviewer:Simon & B | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 8 years ago


lovely weekend in the country - Rating 5/5

We wanted a relaxing weekend away from it all in the country and that's exactly what we got!We and our chocolate labrador received a lovely warm welcome, enjoyed the comfortable and plentiful space in the upstairs suite and relished the delicious breakfasts each morning. I can't recommend Cleavers Lyng highly enough and will definately be telling my friends about it!

Reviewer:Diane & Keith C | Tue 27th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


mr - Rating 5/5

charming situation. Good breakfast good room.

Reviewer:Jeffrey S | Sat 24th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


Doug and Shirley - Rating 5/5

A sheer haven of tranquillity.Our room was lovely, the view superb and the breakfast divine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to visit again

Reviewer:Douglas & Shirley K | Fri 23rd Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


August Short Stay - Rating 5/5

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking to stay and we were not disappointed.A really lovely place to stay and I hope that we will be able to return some time soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan P | Sun 18th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at Cleavers Lyng for our 25th Wedding anniversary and used it as our base for exploring the surroundingcountryside. We had the "Sunny Room"which lived up to its name with dual aspect views over the lovely gardens and the south downs that allowed the September sun to flood in. The room was well appointed with nice luxury touches throughout and very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and Sally was very friendly and helpful suggesting places to eat and providing a recommended taxi to get to and from the village if you wanted to have a drink or two (its @ 1.75miles from the house to the restaurants and pubs). We ate in the Sundial Restaurant (pre-booked) for our anniversary dinner and had one of the best meals ever. Overall a lovely few days spent in the Sussex countryside.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher L | Fri 16th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


Uwe & Concha - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome in a lovely and wonderful quiet place. The house is very well kept and spotless clean. Very nice breakfast with a good choice. The garden is very nice with wonderful views. A good selection of pubs with excellent food is found within 5 to 10 minutes driving.

Reviewer:Dr. Uwe A | Tue 13th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


A wonderful break - Rating 5/5

Would certainly recommend the Lyng to friends.Beautiful, Quiet, Comfortable, Friendly. How many more adjectives do you need?

Reviewer:Mr. Jim J | Wed 24th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


A hidden gem! - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a night while attending a wedding at the castle and church next door. How I managed to find this place at the last minute when the rest of the guests had to book hotels in, and travel back to Eastbourne will forever remain a mystery to me! - I was offered many times the price we paid to surrender this room during the reception but having seen the room, no amount of money could persuade me to! :) The entire experience was delightful - 2 minute walk to the wedding, a lovely spacious room and incredibly comfortable bedding (I NEED those pillows!) not to mention a delicious and obviously free range, no expense spared freshly cooked breakfast the next morning served by a friendly waitress! Bliss! We had a wander around the grounds after breakfast (Not sure if we were supposed to?!) and discovered an incredible vegetable patch out the back where the tomatoes and eggs we'd just eaten obviously came from. As an aspiring / not very successful gardener, I found it a treat to spend time in such a lovely productive and well maintained garden. We both agreed on the drive home that it was somewhere we'd love to return to, and that we felt we'd had a holiday almost from the hectic lives we live as 30-somethings back in London. If I have my way, we will return! :) Thanks for making us feel so welcome. Jen

Reviewer:Ms. JenniferH | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Quiet comfort - Rating 4/5

Super comfy luxurious bed, fluffy towels and tasty homecooked breakfast...Cleavers lyng does what it says on the tin !

Reviewer:Ms. Veronica B | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Heaven in Herstmonceux - Rating 5/5

We arrived at Cleavers Lyng feeling worn out and frazzled. We left 4 days later feeling all but reborn, thanks to the beautiful room, heavenly location, and exceptional hospitality.Doug and Sally even made sure our exuberant Shih Tzu had a wonderful time.He is now saving his pocket money for a return visit!He simply can't wait to go back - and nor can we.Our only possible criticism?The publicity materials actually sell the place short.It's even more charming than it looks.

Reviewer:Dr Annie K | Fri 19th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Fully recommend - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Cleaver's Lyng. The weekend started as a bit of a disaster because we were stuck in traffic for hours, but Sally stayed up to let us in when we finally arrived and was very understanding.Breakfast was wonderful and we had two very comfortable nights stay.Thank you for all of your help (with taxis as well),Megan and Nick

Reviewer:Miss. Megan H | Tue 9th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Mid-week break - Rating 5/5

A very tasteful guesthouse with excellent food and hospitality. The location is perfect for those seeking peace and quiet but is close enough to attractions and walks to cater for those looking for something to do or walking dogs.The owner has thought of every detail to ensure a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Antony W | Sun 31st Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


three nights - Rating 5/5

Lovely Country home, everything perfect. I would recommand to my friends

Reviewer:Mr. DavidM | Sun 31st Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Wish we could have stayed longer - Rating 5/5

We only had one night but it was great - really wish we could have stayed longer to explore the countryside and enjoy the breakfasts!

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia T | Fri 29th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Stay 20th July - Rating 5/5

An excellent location with wonderful rooms and amenities. A superb breakfast also! Many thanks.

Reviewer:Dominic & Ivy M | Mon 25th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Do try it. - Rating 4/5

We had a comfortable stay at Cleavers Lyng. It was just what we had wanted:a beautiful house in a quiet location, accepting of dogs and offering a fabulous breakfast. Next time we hope to get a king size room but the one we had was more than adequate. Do try it.

Reviewer:Meg M | Tue 19th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


One night - Honeymoon - Rating 5/5

Service - greatBreakfast - lovlyRoom - Top notch (Toilet very noisy)Views - Wonderful

Reviewer:Jenny Booth ( | Mon 18th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Peaceful break - Rating 4/5

A great 3-night stay with good weather to enjoy the area. Wonderful breakfasts to set us up for the day after a good night's sleep in our very comfortable bed!

Reviewer:Mr. Dennis A | Mon 11th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Excellent Weekend - Rating 5/5

An idyllic setting, the house and grounds are beautiful and the host made us feel very welcome. A wonderful relaxed weekend and would love to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline A | Mon 4th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

Beautiful and quiet setting with very welcoming hostess. Lovely breakfast. Good value for money. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Colin & Sue N | Sun 3rd Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


A Super Stay... - Rating 5/5

We, and our Beagle Yogi, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cleavers Lyng. Made welcome from the second we arrived the room, service and building was fantastic, with a very comfortable lounge area for those odd damp days. As for the garden views...superb. The whole area was far beyond our expectation as well, we usually head westwards to Devon, but this stay has completely altered our outlook east and we shall certainly come this way again...so much to do here. The breakfast was probably the best I've had anywhere and it was nice that well behaved dogs are allowed to accompany their owners at all times including at breakfast. On a wider basis the food available for evening meals at local pubs (The Merrie Harriers and The Horse &Groom warrant a particular mention for the friendly welcome of the staff and wonderful menus) is great. All in all we would heartily recommend Cleavers Lyng and surrounding area...

Reviewer:Lee& Evajean B | Sat 2nd Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Luxury accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation in a beautiful environment.Made to feel welcome, the food excellent and all needs catered for.Would love to re-visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Sat 25th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


two night stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay in a very lovely house.Excellent breakfast,great views over the country side, very pleasant hosts.Overall avery enjoyable two night visit

Reviewer:Mrs. Tina & Peter J | Fri 24th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

No complaints at all - very comfortable with excellent breakfast with very good waitress. Lovely setting. Better than staying in Eastbourne.

Reviewer:Richard C | Mon 20th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Lorraine, David and Zak (Cocker Spaniel) - Rating 4/5

Lovely house set in a beautiful gardens, with excellent walking along bridal paths just across the lane. Substantial breakfast with plenty of choice all cooked to perfection. Our room was a little smaller than we would have preferred, but comfortable and suitably equipped

Reviewer:David & Lorraine D | Mon 20th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


a delight - Rating 5/5

Beautiful building, lovely rooms, very idividual, wonderful atmostsphere, panoramic views, warm friendly welcome and an amzing breakfast. This is a 'find'. If you're away on a break or travelling on business, one night or a few, this is an idyllic place to eb. Balm for the traveller.

Reviewer:MRs Linda S | Sat 18th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Friendly and relaxing - Rating 4/5

Surroundings idylic, hosts friendly and helpful. Breakfast made a very good start to the day.If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, scenic base to explore the many places of interest in the area, look no further.

Reviewer:Mr David P | Fri 10th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 4/5

We spent a short but very sweet stay at Cleavers Lyng. The tranquility was breathtaking. Comfortable and beautiful surroundings. We will certainly return for more.Thank you

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs H | Wed 8th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Cleavers Lyng - Rating 5/5

We both enjoyed our stay at Cleavers Lyng, set in a very peaceful location. The reception, hospitality and quality of food was to a high standard. We would stay here again for a weekend away.

Reviewer:Lisa& Nathan W | Sun 29th May 2011 | 8 years ago


A pleasant change - Rating 5/5

Lovely house with loads of character in a beautful setting.Made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the change from staying in 'plastic' hotels.Would recommend and I intend to use again.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham S | Thu 19th May 2011 | 8 years ago


Wonderful Retreat - Rating 5/5

Cleavers Lyng is a haven of peace well off the beaten track. The accomodation is a wonderful old building full of character and situated in an extremely secluded spot near the foot of a quiet country lane. The views are stunning across a landscape which must be largely unchanged over tha past few hundred years. The upkeep of the beautifully kept gardens must be a full time job for someone. The accomodation is clean and comfortable with an excellent choice of breakfast menu. The hosts and staff are friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul M | Mon 16th May 2011 | 8 years ago


Very satisfied! - Rating 5/5

We loved Cleavers Ling. A beautiful house with an uninterrupted view across the South Downs. Quality accommodation with all the little extrasneeded, and discreet good service. We bought our small well behaved dog who was made welcome too. For non dog owners you would be pleased to know that the rooms were immaculate and clean with no sign of dogs being allowed. Will definitely return and have already told my friends about it.

Reviewer:Susan & Mrs Flinders & Gary F | Thu 12th May 2011 | 8 years ago


Relaxation - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had the good fortune to stay at Cleavers Lyng whilst on business in the area. We stayed in a "French-themed"room, which was absolutely wonderful, and it had the most comfortable bed in the universe.The house and grounds are beautiful, and the owners charming and very accomodating.We had a meal at the Indian Restaurant in the village, which was excellent and good value for money, and a few pints of cider at the Brewers pub, again which was an excellentpub with a great village atmosphere, friendly and welcoming. After half an hour we had become locals, and had a great night.In all I would rate this venue as one of the best i have stayed in for many a year.We wanted a relaxing weekend, with good food, good beer, nice surroundings and a plush place to rest our heads. I'm happy to say we found it all at Cleavers Lyng.

Reviewer:Mr Stephen O | Tue 10th May 2011 | 8 years ago